Skip to Content

Awards and Honours Received

Printer-friendly PDF version

The faculty have received recognition through the award of local,
national and international awards presented by professional associations,
foundations and academic institutions, including:

  • One Charles A. McDowell Award for Excellence in Research
  • Five Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada
  • Two Tier 1 Canada Research Chairs
  • Three Howard Hughes International Research Scholars
  • Three Steacie Prizes
  • One CIHR Distinguished Investigator
  • Three MRC Senior Scientists
  • Nobel Prize, 1993


Year Award Recipient
2018 Fellow, The Canadian Academy of Engineering Charles Haynes
2018 George W. Beadle Award Phil Hieter
2018 Laureate, The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Brett Finlay
2017 Fellow, The National Academy of Inventors Terry Snutch
2017 Genome British Columbia Award for Scientific Excellence Leonard Foster
2017 Ken Standing Award Leonard Foster
2017 UBC Faculty of Medicine Distinguished Researcher Award in the Basic Science category Brett Finlay
2017 Web of Science (Clarivate) list of Highly Cited Researchers Jörg Bohlmann
2016 B.A. Stone Award for Excellence in Plant Polysaccharide Biochemistry Harry Brumer
2016 Canada Research Chair Tier 2 Award Cara Haney
2016 Elected to the National Academy of Sciences Phil Hieter
2016 Major Sir Frederick Banting MC, RCAMC Award Christian Kastrup
2016 Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research Scholar Christian Kastrup
2016 Thomson Reuters List of Highly Cited Researchers Jörg Bohlmann
2016 Thomson Reuters List of Highly Cited Researchers Brett Finlay
2016 Thomson Reuters List of Highly Cited Researchers Brian Ellis
2016 UBC Killam Research Prize Harry Brumer
2015 Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering R.S. Jane Memorial Award James Piret
2015 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Service James Piret
2015 Fellow, The Royal Society of Canada Jörg Bohlmann