Skip to Content

Awards and Honours Received

Printer-friendly PDF version

The faculty have received recognition through the award of local,
national and international awards presented by professional associations,
foundations and academic institutions, including:

  • One Charles A. McDowell Award for Excellence in Research
  • Five Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada
  • Two Tier 1 Canada Research Chairs
  • Three Howard Hughes International Research Scholars
  • Three Steacie Prizes
  • One CIHR Distinguished Investigator
  • Three MRC Senior Scientists
  • Nobel Prize, 1993


Year Award Recipient
2015 UBC Killam Research Prize Leonard Foster
2014 Canada Council for the Arts (CCA) Killam Research Fellowship Steve Withers
2014 Innovative Dissemination Of Research Award David Ng
2014 Prix Galien Canada Research Award Brett Finlay
2014 Thomson Reuters List of the World's Most Influential Scientific Minds Jörg Bohlmann
2013 Genome British Columbia Award for Scientific Excellence Brett Finlay
2013 Journal Biotechnology & Bioengineering Top Cited Research Award James Piret
2013 Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies (PWIAS) Early Career Scholar award Christian Kastrup
2012 Cell Culture Engineering Award, Engineering Conferences International James Piret
2012 Faculty of Science Achievement Award Joanne Fox
2012 Fellow, Academy of Arts and Sciences Phil Hieter
2012 German National Academy of Sciences Fellowship Brett Finlay
2012 MSFHR Career Investigator Nobuhiko Tokuriki
2012 Neuropathic Pain Research Awards Terry Snutch
2012 Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Brett Finlay
2012 Royal Society of Chemistry Centenary Prize (UK) Steve Withers
2012 Royal Society of London (RSL) Fellowship Steve Withers
2011 American Society of Plant Biologists list of Authors from around the World Jörg Bohlmann
2011 Fellow, Canadian Academy of Health Sciences Phil Hieter
2010 Distinguished Medical Research Lecturer Award, UBC Faculty of Medicine Phil Hieter