Awards and recognition

MSL recipients, Pal Bains and Natalie Marshall, recognized with a Dean of Science Excellence in Service Award

Written by the MSL Science Communications Team

Left to right: Jim Kronstad, Director of the Michael Smith Laboratories; Pal Bains (recipient), Finance Manager in the Michael Smith Laboratories; Simon Peacock, Dean of Science; Natalie Marshall (recipient), Graduate student in Microbiology & Immunology and the Michael Smith Laboratories; and Mike Gold, Head of Microbiology & Immunology

Each year the Faculty of Science recognizes staff, students and faculty whose service contributions have had a significant positive impact in achieving UBC Science’s mission. This year the Michael Smith Laboratories is thrilled to have two of our members recognized during the March 1, 2017 ceremony; Pal Bains is the Finance Manager for the Department, and Nathalie Marshall is a PhD candidate in Microbiology & Immunology, supervised by Dr. Brett Finlay.

Award citation: “Pal Bains has superseded expectations over the past two years in leading the overall administrative functions of the Michael Smith laboratories (MSL) during a demanding period of major staff changes and the recent merger with the Centre for High Throughput Biology. In addition to providing exceptional support for day-to-day operations in her formal role as Finance Manager, Pal has also been a bellwether for the MSL’s diverse support staff.”

Award citation: “Natalie Marshall is unwavering in her dedication to improve student life at UBC by advocating for student mental and physical well-being and by fostering increases opportunity for student academic and professional development (PD). She facilitated the wellbeing and PD of graduate students through development of a new graduate-undergraduate mentoring program in the Faculty of Science (FoS) and participation in the Senate Undergraduate Research Opportunities Task Force (SUROTF).”

The complete list of 2016 recipients include:


Patrice Bellville, Computer Science
Michael Murphy, Microbiology and Immunology


Pal Bains, Michael Smith Laboratories
Donna Dinh, Botany
Sukhi Hundal, Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
Chris Stinson, Beaty Biodiversity Museum
Tammy Tromba, Zoology
Jessica Wrinskelle, Computer Science


Kate MacDonald, Biology
Natalie Marshall, Microbiology and Immunology